Readers Forum – Love thy Neighbor..

Mark 12:31, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

What does that mean?

When asked by a skeptic to test the Lord Jesus, the Lord Jesus replied; “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.”

This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it:

“You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets” (Matthew 22:37-40).

When we read the Ten Commandments in Exodus 20, we are struck with the realization that they focus on these two issues. Certainly we are to love God supremely. But what does it mean to love our neighbor as ourselves?

Jesus is quoting here from “Leviticus 19.” So let’s look at its context: … “When you reap the harvest of your land, you shall not wholly reap the corners of your field, nor shall you gather the gleanings of your harvest.

You shall not glean your vineyard, nor shall you gather every grape of your vineyard; you shall leave them for the poor and the stranger: I am the lord your God.

You shall not steal, nor deal falsely, nor lie to one another. You shall not swear by my name falsely, nor shall you profane the name of your God: I am the Lord.

You shall not cheat your neighbor, nor rob him. The wages of him who is hired shall not remain with you all night until morning. You shall not curse the deaf, nor put a stumbling block before the blind, but shall fear your God: I am the Lord.

You shall do no injustice in judgment. You shall not be partial to the poor, nor honor the person of the mighty.

In righteousness you shall judge your neighbor. You shall not go about as a talebearer among your people; nor shall you take a stand against the life of your neighbor: I am the Lord.

You shall not hate your brother in your heart. You shall surely rebuke your neighbor, and not bear sin because of him.

You shall not take vengeance, nor bear any grudge against the children of your people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself: I am the LORD” (Leviticus 19:9-18).

Notice that loving our neighbor would include: sharing with the poor and the alien; compassion and absolute honesty and justice in our relationships with others; impartiality.

A refusal to be a party to gossip or slander; an absence of malice towards anyone and a refusal to bear a grudge.

Taking care never to put another’s life at risk and never taking private vengeance upon another. It is also interesting to note that when we have an issue with anyone, we should strive to make it right by going to him or her directly. James calls this the “royal law” (James 2:8).

The Lord teaches that we should do to others as we would have them do to us (Matthew 7:12).

When selfish agenda driven men like Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson stand on a soapbox and minister to their flock that their flock “deserves,” or, is “entitled” to more “consideration” (by society and under the law) than their neighbors because their neighbors disrespect them for the color of their skin, it is not God’s teaching, nor is it God’s will.

Name and location withheld by request,   (Question of the day – Color and the value thereof).

As a black woman and a mother I sympathize with Michael Brown’s parents, as a law enforcement officer I understand Darren Wilson’s need to survive an encounter with a young man nearly twice his size.

Hello Maat, thank you for visiting my site and thank you for your narrative.

(Sidebar).

As I have a personal aversion to anonymity, for my purpose here today, I declare and bestow upon you the (honor) and (nom de plume), “Maat,” (pronounced; “Mayet,”).

According to Wikipedia: “Maat” is the goddess of truth and justice, personifying truth, balance, order, law, morality and justice.

Continuing…

God bless you and my personal thanks for your service to your neighbors and to the nation.

Terrell from Levitz Park,               (Media v Media).

I’ve been reading your blog for more than a year and I find everything you write to be inspirational. So much so that I started writing a blog of my own two months ago.

I don’t write about politics or morality, as those are subjects that require more knowledge and authority than I possess. I write about my children and my hope that the world will be a better place for them and their children in the future.

Hello Terrell, thank you for visiting my site and thank you for your narrative. With that said; Hoping for the world to be a better place for your children and your grandchildren is one of the most moral things I can think of, and in the arena of politics, sharing your hope with others is a grand example.

All that is truly needed to walk in either world, is a true heart and a boatload of tenacity.

According to Webster: “te·na·cious,” adj. Holding or tending to hold persistently to something, such as a point of view.

Troy from Fort Worth,       (Two Frightening Questions).

I’ve been reading your blog for more than two years and I find it consistently more informative and more enjoyable than anything else on the web. So far I believe I’ve shared your site with at least fifty friends who all feel the same and would all like to see you back in the graphics business.

I frequent three other WordPress websites that don’t have any trouble with installing graphics, why can’t they fix what’s wrong with yours?

Hello Troy, thank you for patronizing my site and thank you for your accolades, if I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times, I love accolades. 🙂

As for my lack of graphics, I am as upset about it as you are, albeit since I have been assured by an extremely tenacious young woman that she will (give no quarter) until I’m back in business, I’m doing my best to be tolerant.

Gary from Scottsbluff,             (If I were the President).

I started reading your blog in June and I love it, every word. I was a Republican that voted for Obama in ‘08 because Bush had the nation in decline and because I read Obama’s book, dreams from my father.

I’m now a registered independent chomping at the bit to vote in November the best way I can to shut the door on Obama’s agendas.

Hello Gary, thank you for coming aboard and thank you for your narrative.

Don’t feel like the Lone Ranger, Obama and his machine, to include “our” mainstream media, did a shameful number on everyone that didn’t bother to look under the rug.

Which is standard operating procedure in America in the 21st Century with Judas’s like “William Devane” pushing (gold) on America’s population and “Fred Thompson” doing the same for AAG with reverse mortgages under the guise that (they), AAG and Roslyn Capital are interested in people’s futures.

Truth; (business 101), People with money do not help people without money unless the people with money make a greater profit than the people they solicit to buy their snake oil.

Melissa from Philadelphia,   (More Bigot Bashing Buffoons).

My friend Ariel sent me your web address because she knew I would have something to say about this. You can supply all the statistics you want to point out white contributions to the development of America. But you can’t deny that black folks have been very important to America as well.

Without black people, generations of white people would’ve grown up in rubbish up to their knees and have children that didn’t know right from wrong because they wouldn’t have no one to pick up after them and raise their children.

Black people have invented lots of stuff and there are lots of black people in the military, what about that?

And although you don’t like it, a black man is now president of the United States.

Black people are good people, only a few are bad and white people blow them out of proportion.

Hello Melissa, thank you for visiting my site and thank you for your narrative. As I have said many many times, I hold no animosity towards black people.

I could reiterate that I served with black men in Vietnam, but that wouldn’t matter, would it?

The only thing that really matters to people who believe that they’re oppressed is the illusion that they are oppressed. As an exercise in “futility,” pretend for a moment that you’re not black, pretend that your white, how would that change your life?

According to Webster: “fu·til·i·ty,” n., The quality of having no useful result.

God didn’t create anyone or anything without a purpose, like our God given senses; sight, hearing and intuition to name a few, it is a (no-brainer) to conclude that “all men,” ..or, more correctly “everyone” is not created equal.

Where not all six foot two with eyes of blue, we don’t all have bodies like Arnold Schwarzenegger or Pamela Anderson, ..if you want a body like Arnold or Pamela, ya gotta work for it.

If you want a bank balance like Bill Gates or Warren Buffett ya gotta work for it.

In reality, (outside the realm of politics), the word deserves means; “to be worthy of.”

According to Webster: “wor·thy,” adj. (in context) Honorable, having merit.

(Sidebar).

There is nothing honorable or meritorious about believing that your neighbor should pay your light bill.

Continuing…

Barack Obama, with his “your brother’s keeper” mentality is insulting to anyone with the understanding of the word pride.

According to Webster: “pride,” n. A sense of self-respect.

MAN IS NOT HIS BROTHER’S KEEPER!

Leroy fror Austin,                           (Work of Fiction).

I’ve been following your post since January and although I really miss your pictures and graphics, you’re still hitting the nail directly on the head with your narrative.

Your title today, a work of fiction, is without a doubt the best description I have ever heard of for Barack Obama.

Hello Leroy, thank you for your patronage and thank you for your narrative.

I JUST TELL IT LIKE I SEE IT…

Truth forges understanding, I’ll be back tomorrow

Darth Lepus 1

 

Leave a Reply

