Day Six, the Path to a Solution..

 

fork in the road

Hello Jason, thank you for your reply to my request. I tried everything that you suggested without any success.

Whatever has taken place, (at least in my opinion), is a result of some change someone at WordPress decided to do.

I am an extremely congenial and easy-going individual, mostly because at my age (72), I realize that getting excited about such things provides no benefit, this has happened once before and was resolved when I chose to sign up as a paying customer.

I realize that the lust for money is the prime motivation for activity in our society which is a sad commentary for the human race. Oh well, I appreciate your effort. Have a great day, Chuck.

From Jason S. – WordPress.com

Hi Chuck, I’m sorry you are still having difficulties and would like to help you resolve the issue. Could you possibly provide me with more information about what exactly you are wanting to do? Feel free to include a screenshot of any errors or other pieces that are not functioning as you expect them. I’m happy to keep working through this issue with you. Best, Jason S. | WordPress.com

On Monday, July 28, at (2:49 PM) I got this communication from (Jason S.), a kind and considerate representative of WordPress.com, to which I replied; …

Hello Jason, I appreciate your concern. The problem; on Wednesday, July 23, when transferring my post and my graphics from my word processor into “word press” everything was working as it had been since I signed up as a professional member of the group.

However, on Thursday, July 24, following my routine I was shut down when I was unable to resize my graphics and my pictures as I had been resizing them since day one. Both my pictures and my graphics, basically install the same.

I select “insert media,” choose the photo or graphic I wish to install, click on it and it’s done.

However, as I referred to earlier many of my pictures and graphics to fit my purpose must be resized in one direction or the other (top to bottom) or (side to side), which has always been simple to accomplish by selecting one of the buttons on the top or on the side and dragging it to the desired size or configuration.

Word press program, install media will no longer allow me to drag one of my pictures or graphics in a single direction, no matter which I choose on the frame, the frame resizes in both directions at the same time to maintain the picture or graphics integrity.

If this is a glitch in the program it is a glitch in your arena, and should be something that a word press technician could fix?

Resizing a picture or a graphic is a simple process, or at least it was until this glitch.

As far as sending you a screenshot? I wished I knew how to do that. I know how to do what I do, but what I do is limited to what I do.

Sorry I don’t have more expertise, my generation grew up with Lincoln logs and two tin cans with a string between them, we had no computers and no cell phones. Chuck.

To which Jason S. – WordPress.com replied; …

Hi Chuck, I’ve checked with one of our developers and it does look like a change was made to the system which forces aspect ratio for images. This was done to keep images from looking ‘stretched’ or ‘smooshed’ while still provided the ability to edit an image by dragging. This does limit your flexibility with image resizing, but should make the images on your site a little more clear.

(Sidebar).

According to Webster: “cen·sor·ship,” n. The act, process, or practice of censoring.

First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution – text;

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

Continuing…

You do have the ability to crop an image to a specific size in the ‘Edit Image’ utility, either when you are inserting into the post or from the Media Library. I hope this explains what is going on. I have reported to the developers that there may need to be a way to use a non-aspect related images. I would like some additional feedback from you to provide if you don’t mind.

(Sidebar).

And of course, I absolutely do not mind providing WordPress with more information to help them in their decision to return their service to the way it was.

Continuing…

What ways do you use non-aspect restricted images?

(Sidebar).

As example; the graphic directly below is of my own design and meant to be “stretched and/or smooshed” when installed into my post.

limited flexibility graphic 1

Continuing…

Are you using graphics, pictures, original pieces? Does the crop function serve your needs, or would you like access to that in a different location? Thanks, and let me know if you have any additional questions. We try to make sure our utilities work for our users, and appreciate the feedback. Many thanks, Jason S. | WordPress.com Happiness Engineer

Which brings me to question: …

Why would someone @WordPress.com (want to limit) my flexibility in resizing, and/or, deny me the capacity to “stretch or smoosh” an image or a graphic as I see fit under freedom of expression?

no matter 1

After conferring with legal counsel, I have learned that WordPress.com is currently open to a civil suit for breach of contract, as the facilities provided at the time I joined as a paying client included the ability to resize, manipulate, and/or “stretch and smoosh” (whatever?)

Of course, beyond the silliness of denying me the ability to “stretch and smoosh” images and graphics, by making this decision, the individual, and/or, individuals WordPress.com’s developer, and/or developers, are “legal representative” of WordPress.com, that have unequivocally denied me my U.S. Constitutionally “guaranteed” First Amendment rights of freedom of speech, freedom of the press, and freedom of expression.

Clarification: Although the U.S. Constitution does not include the wording; “freedom of expression” it has been brought to my attention by legal counsel that there are more than 8,000 examples of case law in which (freedom of expression) is upheld on behalf of the press.

Accordingly, (at least in my opinion), the question arises for WordPress.com, as to just how dedicated they wish to be in maintaining their denial of my freedom of speech, freedom of the press and freedom of expression?

Postscript; …

Freedom of speech, of the press, of association, of assembly and petition — this set of guarantees, protected by the First Amendment, comprises what we refer to as freedom of expression.

The Supreme Court has written that this freedom is “the matrix, the indispensable condition of nearly every other form of freedom.” Without it, other fundamental rights, like the right to vote, would wither and die.

The ACLU’s Project on Speech, Privacy, and Technology (SPT) is dedicated to protecting and expanding the First Amendment freedoms of expression, association, and inquiry; expanding the right to privacy and increasing the control that individuals have over their personal information; and ensuring that civil liberties are enhanced rather than compromised by new advances in science and technology. The project is currently working on a variety of issues, including political protest, freedom of expression online, privacy of electronic information, journalists’ rights, scientific freedom, and openness in the courts. (Source, aclu.org.)

Talk about an…

ugly can of worms 2

..and for what?

In closing, if the question of my age should arise, I am in fact and indeed an old guy, albeit I am not a stupid old guy.

Truth forges understanding, I’ll be back tomorrow

Crusader Rabbit Logo - COLOR 1a

Crusader Rabbit…

 

 

Leave a Reply

