Now and then, (rhetoric)..

..and/or,

blah blah blah - graphic 1

According to Webster: “rhet·o·ric,” The art or study of using language effectively and persuasively.

Cinderella  - graphic 1a

I received a comment from an individual a few weeks back that missed my readers forum because I, (in my mastery of perception), ..felt it was too simplistic.

The young woman wrote; …

It’s taken me all of the last six months to read everything that you’ve written to date. I write copy for an advertising firm in New York City, so my question is, (if you have no staff), not only how do you write what you write every day, but why do you do it?” ..the communiqué was signed: “Cinderella”.

The second reason I declined to use her comment was that her email address was either illegitimate, (as reported by my Internet provider), or it was blocked?

same difference  - page break

Either way, the young ladies question was “legitimate” and it has haunted me every day sense that I dismissed her.

Accordingly, today is dedicated to providing “Cinderella” with her due… 

glass slipper 2

Hello Cinderella, as stated categorically more than enough times to be categorized as boring; “I have no staff, crew or helpers here in my dungeon, i.e., (basement), where I daily perpetrate “Pearls of Profundity,” ..and/or, as defined in the pages of Merriam-Webster’s publication; “Wisdom.”

My answer, (at least in my mind), is simple; I utilize my memory, my imagination and the First Amendment. 

first amendment text - scroll

Two score and sixteen years ago, at the end of my freshman year in high school, I had a “coveted” appointment with the Disney Company for a summer job.

I was an art major in school with a passion for history, (to be specific), early “American and Western” history, and a lack of appreciation for the English language that could be classified as monumental.

Accordingly, had I not learn to read and appreciate “words” from reading Western novels during my years in elementary school, tying my shoes might have been the pinnacle of my accomplishments in life.

Reading was my salvation as a kid with two older brothers to whom, I was an (eternal irritant), particularly on the mornings before school when it was necessary to make sure that their breath was fresh and that every hair was in place…

I still have no comprehensive grasp of punctuation and if it wasn’t for Microsoft’s spell check, (my fan club) a group of obsessed spelling groupies…

Roman legion - graphic 1A

Would be legion, …

minor-league - graphic 1A

..instead of minor-league. 

In short, I write what I write because I can. I’m 72 years old and I like people, ..and, to be blunt, ..it (pisses me off) when folks who draw salaries (from decent men and women), i.e., “taxpayers” under the (guise), …

According to Webster: “guise,” False appearance; pretense.

Obamacare cartoon 1a

..of representing and helping people, do just the opposite.

I also do what I do, ..because ( I ) need something to justify my existence.

Question: Why is it that the good folks in Washington, (that claim) they’re concerned about our health put warning labels on everything from cigarettes to peanut butter, – albeit when it comes to one of the greatest hazards to man that mankind has ever known, – there is no warning label.

ravenous parasite - Obama 1a

A ravenous parasite in the Oval Office…

According to Webster: “par·a·site,” An organism that grows, feeds, and is sheltered on or in a different organism while contributing nothing to the survival of its host.

2. One who habitually takes advantage of the generosity of others without making any useful return.

3. One who lives off and flatters the rich; a sycophant.

In closing, for those of you who may not own a dictionary?

feet on desk - Obama 1

According to Webster: “syc·o·phant,” A servile self-seeker who attempts to win favor by flattering influential people.

Truth forges understanding, I’ll be back tomorrow

Crusader Rabbit Logo - COLOR 1a

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

