Satire 101..

Obama - satire comic 1

According to Webster: “sat·ire,” (s²t“ºr”) 1. A literary work in which human vice or folly is attacked through irony, derision, or wit. 2. The branch of literature constituting such works. See Synonyms at  caricature. 3. Irony, sarcasm, or caustic wit used to attack or expose folly, vice, or stupidity. [Latin satira, probably alteration (influenced by Greek satur, satyr, and and satyros, burlesque of a mythical episode) of (lanx) satura, fruit (plate) mixture, from feminine of satur, sated, well-fitted. See s³- below.]

Ordinarily I would wait for Sunday to reply to the flood of commentary concerning Monday’s offering, and/or,, “Upon Request,” however since the flow of warped mentalities that sets the ignorant apart from the rest of us have undeniably outdone themselves with stupidity, I have chosen to reply with an early offering.

When I was a kid, (circa 1940s), living on the West Coast of these United States, i.e., Southern California. Entertainment, depending on your socio/economic standing in society could very from (Yachting) in Santa Barbara to (playing marbles) in the dirt lot across from the projects where you lived.

As I lived in the projects, I became quite skilled at marbles. I was also an avid reader and collector of books, comic books, as battery and electrically powered toys and devices weren’t even on the drawing boards. 

eyepatch - iPad 2a

As unbelievable as it may sound today, when I was a kid this is the only (iPad) that was available, ..and “they” were not at all popular.

Between the ages of five and eight I collected more than 2000 comic books, many of which in today’s market would buy me a new car, and a few of them would buy me a new house. 

Superman 19 41 - graphic

I had ‘em all, and I had them all catalogued and categorized and kept neatly in boxes in the bottom of my closet, ..so on the day that my mother decided they were of no value and carried them to the trash, her task was an easy one.

After that, I began reading Zane Grey and Jack Schaefer along with pretty much anything that displayed a mounted cowboy on the cover. 

Zane Grey 3

In my youth, I was a kid who loved action and I suppose if I’d been born in 1981 instead of 1941, there’s an awfully good chance that I would’ve understood computers much better than I do and joined the videogame set. Albeit, I wasn’t born and in 1981, so yes, I differ from the population of today.

According to Webster: “dif·fer,” (d¹f“…r) To be dissimilar or unlike in nature, quality, amount, or form.

Question: So how does a book differ from a videogame?

In a book, the reader lives vicariously through the characters in the story, whereas in a videogame, the (player), is one of the characters in the story.

Believe me when I tell you that there is nothing redeeming or for filling about killing another human being, or being shot at.

wounded warrior - graphic

War is an evil arena where good men die to serve the needs of a tyrant.

According to Webster: “ty·rant,” 1. An absolute ruler who governs without restrictions.

2. A ruler who exercises power in a harsh, cruel manner.

3. An oppressive, harsh, arbitrary person.

Take your pick, they’re all appropriate 

LBJ - tyrant

..but LBJ wasn’t a tyrant. 

Tell that to the 58,000 plus men who didn’t come home from Vietnam…

Men that I speak for, ..whether black, white or brown when I replied to garbage like…

From Jerome, who writes; “You are a stupid (expletive) white man who can’t accept the fact that black folks aren’t picking (expletive) cotton anymore.

From Jillian, who writes; “One of the greatest tragedies in America is coming across irresponsible racist propaganda like you publish on your website. I hope that you and all like you die as soon as possible.

From Willy Jack, who writes; “You a sure racist headed for hell for talking about Barack Obama like he don’t belong in the White House. You a fool and there isn’t no cure for that even with Obamacare. Go to hell honky.

From Daryl, who writes; “You down for hating my man being in the White House and I love that you hate my man being in the White House because I hate you and every white dude in the world. You down for hate so am I.

There are of course many more comments filled with hate and disdain, which is sad because the truth is available in so many venues in America, that to be (ignorant) of what “our” leaders in Washington are up to is almost criminal.

According to Webster: “lost,” (in context) Unable to find one’s way: a lost child.

One hundred years ago, (give or take), America was the most prosperous nation on the planet, “we” had virtually no national debt and “we” had the largest and most prosperous middle class in the world.

Men were the breadwinners and mothers stayed home and raised their children.

chalkboard - question mark 1a

Question: Can anyone tell me why?

I didn’t think so, ..accordingly (for those of you with the God given common sense), to understand? 100 years ago, (give or take), we, “We the People” of this great nation…

mount Rushmore - flag 1

..had representatives in “our”  Nation’s Capital. Today, “we” have politicians.

Truth forges understanding, I’ll be back tomorrow

Crusader Rabbit Logo - COLOR 1a

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

