Once upon a time..

In my adolescence, (as I recall), there were few things if any, that provided more joy and delight than when my mother told my siblings and I a story that began with…

once upon a time 1

..because in my adolescence, I believed in magic and Santa Claus, the Easter bunny and the tooth fairy. I mean come on people, what’s “not to believe” when you place an extracted tooth under your pillow and wake up the next morning to find a dime.

1941 liberty dime 1a

This is what a dime look like the year I was born. 

(Sidebar).

Today’s ungodly inflation has ruined the (value) of every coin in America, ..except for the dime. A dime can still be used as a screwdriver.

“Quote me.”

once upon a time page rate

Continuing…

a wonderful life 1a

Childhood is a wonderful time, or at least it was for me, as I grew up under the wing of a man who provided for my needs and under the wing of a woman who knew how to make me believe that needs far outweighed desires.

disappointment 1b

Sure I was disappointed at times when I didn’t have some of the things other kids had, ..but then “disappointment” led me to ambition and accomplishment, ..which over the course of time, ..taught me that “disappointment” could be used as a stepping stone as well as a hovel.

According to Webster: “hov·el,” A small, miserable dwelling.

once upon a time page rate

1952 Jaguar convertible 2

..when I was eleven years old, (1952) ..I saw my first Jaguar roadster and promptly informed my father that I would one day own a Jaguar roadster.

To which my father promptly replied; “I saw your last report card boy, ..you’ll never earn enough money to purchase the side view mirror on a car like that…

(My father called things as he saw them).

1966 Jaguar convertible and me

Above; My 1966 Jaguar convertible before I repainted it a deep maroon. (Although I look like I’m three feet tall in this photo, I’m actually six foot five).

One of my father’s favorite bylines was; “Work is what you make of it, ..it’s all about attitude.”

I always found the jobs I applied myself to, to be easy and most enjoyable, ..and, (the more money I made), the easier and the more enjoyable my employment became.

Although I can’t recount a time in my life when I thought of myself as a rich man, ..I can’t recall a time in my life when I thought of myself as being poor either.

once upon a time page rate

Which of course begs me to ask, ..what is a poor person?

Question: Is a poor person simply an individual who doesn’t have enough?

..or is being poor (in America) actually a vocation?

According to Webster: “vo·ca·tion,” A regular occupation, especially one for which a person is particularly suited or qualified.

As an example: “An individual who defines himself or herself as a (progressive liberal Democrat).

An individual who believes that it’s appropriate and proper for a man to marry a man.

An individual who believes that it’s appropriate and proper for a woman to marry a woman.

An individual who believes that it’s appropriate and proper to abort a child at any stage of pregnancy.

Question: Do you think that progressive liberal Democrats give any thought, (not to America’s future), but to their own?

Statistically, the 10 poorest cities in America by population;

1. Detroit, Michigan: 32.5% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

2. Buffalo, New York: 29.9% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

3. Cincinnati, Ohio: 27.8% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

4. Cleveland, Ohio: 27.0% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

5. Miami, Florida: 26.9% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

6. St. Louis, Missouri: 26.8% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

7. El Paso, Texas: 26.4% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

8. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: 26.2% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

9. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: 25.1% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

10. Newark, New   Jersey: 24.2% of the population live below the government established poverty line.

Question: What do the top (ten) cities in America, ..with a (population over 250,000) ..with the highest poverty rates have in common?

Detroit; number one on the poverty rate list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1961.

Buffalo; second on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1954.

Cincinnati; third on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1984.

Cleveland; fourth on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1989.

Miami; fifth on the list has (never) elected a Republican mayor.

St. Louis; sixth on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1949.

El Paso; seventh on the list has never elected a Republican mayor.

Milwaukee; eighth on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1908.

Philadelphia; ninth on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1952.

Newark; 10th on the list hasn’t elected a Republican mayor since 1907.

Question: Do poor people purposely elect Democrats to ensure the survival of their vocation?

welfare 1A

Question: So what is the (middle-class) working man and woman to do, ..to survive?

Answer: Simply continue doing what you’re doing – get up in the morning and go to work – pay your bills on time – if you’re a man, ..marry a woman – if you’re a woman, ..marry a man – don’t abort your children – and in three generations, (maybe less) ..there will be no progressive liberal Democrats left on the planet.

once upon a time page rate

Life is good as long as you remember…

feeding pigeons 1a

..there’s a historic time-honored “sociological” reason why all (responsible) cities have an ordinance prohibiting folks from feeding pigeons.

Factoid: Once a pigeon is programmed (not) to seek food as God and nature intended, it will literally starve to death if it’s fabricated source is lost.

once upon a time page rate

In closing…

uncertain times 1a

When some “character” tells me that we’re living in uncertain times, ..I immediately think back to Christmas 1941, ..which historically, ..is the day before I was born.

Truth forges understanding, I’ll be back tomorrow

6274894_std

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

