Do guns really kill people?

pile of pistols 2a

I owned my first gun (a Daisy Red Ryder BB gun) ..when I was five years old, ..granted I was taller than every eight-year-old in my neighborhood at the time, ..albeit, (at least in my considered opinion), ..how tall an individual is, ..is “not” ..the “measure” of his or her intellect.

I celebrated my fifth birthday, ..the day after Christmas in 1946.

It was a much different world then, “you correctly” inject?

Absolutely, ..I agree, ..unequivocally, ..without a doubt.

As to whether or not, ..it was a better world, ..is of course subjective.

According to Webster: “sub·jec·tive,” Existing only within the experiencer’s mind.

 Mac Donald's 3

In 1946, ..there were no Golden Arches, ..kids didn’t have iPads, ..computers, ..or cell phones.

we had parents 1

According to Webster: “par·ent,” One who begets, gives birth to, or nurtures and raises a child; a father or a mother.

My father, ..and/or, ..(the breadwinner) in my family was a man with an eighth grade education, ..nevertheless, he and my mother raised six children, ..none of whom became a doctor or a lawyer.

Albeit, none of my parents children ever robbed a bank, and had I not received a letter from the U.S. Army in 1964, ..and been sent to Vietnam, ..I could say (unequivocally) ..that none of my parent’s children ever shot anyone, ..or that any of my parent’s children had ever been shot, ..or (I suppose) ..more correctly, ..blown up by a mortar round.

A gun can either be a tool or weapon. I have owned and collected guns for more than 65 years without doing harm to anyone other than during the time I was employed (to do harm) by the U.S. Government. I have enjoyed hunting all my life and shooting sports, both at target and trap ranges.

A gun is no more dangerous than the individual who is in possession of it,

 guns do not kill people

The senseless violence perpetrated at the Sandy Hook elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut on Friday was beyond anything anyone in America should ever have to experience.

With that said, although I (in no way) mean to diminish the horror suffered by the victims and the families of the Sandy Hook school atrocity, on the same day… (Friday).

“Twenty-two children were hurt by a knife-wielding man at a primary school in central China.

Min Yingjun, 36, stabbed an elderly woman before bursting into Chenpeng Village Primary School in the Henan province yesterday. (Friday, Dec.14).

Seven of the students, aged between six and 12 years old, were taken to hospital, some with severed fingers and ears.

A knife-wielding man injured 22 children on a rampage through a primary school in central China.

Police told the Chinese government’s Xinhua News Agency that Min was possibly ‘mentally ill’ and is now in custody.

Min burst into the home of a 85-year-old woman before stabbing her with a kitchen knife shortly before 8am.

(source, http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2248054/China-stabbing-22-children-elderly-woman-stabbed-outside-primary-school-Chinese-knifeman.html)

Crazy, and/or, (mentally ill) individuals do violence for what ever reason? Which is both sad and incomprehensible to the decent and compassionate.

 Jesus on the cross 2a

Life is both the most precious, and the most uncertain thing a human being owns, ..cherish it while you can.

I’ll be back tomorrow

6274894_std

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

