All Hands on Deck..

As I have shared in my blather on many occasions, I am a (bona fide) “died in the wool” (100% Conservative) advocate of the Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

I owned a Red Ryder BB gun at the age of five, at the age of seven I was regularly providing meat for my family’s dinner table that I bagged with my J.C. Higgins (plunger firing pin) single shot .22 caliber rifle. At the age of nine I purchased a full (military stocked) ..surplus “30-40 Krag” rifle, ..with which I harvested my first deer. The rifle was as tall as I was, albeit I outweighed it by more than a hundred pounds.

I am proud to be an American, and to live in a country where men and women are guaranteed certain inalienable rights. I am proud to live in a country where I have, “a right” ..to (freedom of speech) and (freedom of the press) guaranteed to me by the First Amendment of our Constitution.

I am just as proud to live in a country that guarantees me the “Right to Keep and Bear Arms” ..with which to protect myself and my family, ..or provide them with protein.

I have owned guns all my life and I have hunted all of my life. Nevertheless, I am as a “human being” every bit as abhorred and appalled when a member of my species commits an act of murder.

Taking a person’s life is a “heinous act” ..much too frequently experienced in America.

I, like an enormous number of people in America these past few days have been watching “our Teleprompter reading buffoons” ..explicate their sentiments and opinions. Or more correctly, ..(reading) ..the “sentiments and opinions” ..written for them by someone that is most likely paid a fraction of “their” salary.

What happened in Aurora, Colorado, by every measure that I am aware, ..is as tragic as dying in the streets of Kandahar or in a rice paddy in Vietnam.

We, “people,” i.e. (Homo sapiens,) ..are by nature, ..prone to violence. We are all disasters ..(given the proper motivation), waiting to happen.

We, (at least most of us,) ..tell ourselves that “we,” ..(could never) ..commit such a depraved act, ..and of course the Lion’s share of us believe it. Because few, ..if any? ..at least anyone that I know, ..since I was raised by parents who taught me right from wrong and that hurting others wasn’t an option.

A simple message to convey, ..and a simple message to understand, ..nevertheless, ..it would seem the greater that “our” population becomes, ..the more prone to senseless violence we become.

Question: Are we, ..people, (Homo sapiens,) ..prone, and/or drawn to violence because of our nature, ..or because of our schooling, (programming,) ..i.e. ..fetchin’ up?

Question: How old were you the first time you struck another human being in anger?

 

(wack) 

When, ..(Homo sapiens) ..are in the “adolescent” phase of their development, ..having personally been there and done that, ..I can testify unequivocally that it is extremely difficult to find an acceptable reason (not to punch) someone that has explicated that your mother wears combat boots.

However, given the passage of a dozen or so years when I returned home from Vietnam, ..I found it a hundred, ..or even a thousand times more unacceptable to unleash my capacity for violence on another human being.

Because, (in truth) ..there is absolutely no acceptable reason or justification for one human being to harm another.

Human beings can be docile obedient creatures, ..or they can be reckless and complicated beyond the stretch of even Rod Serling’s imagination.

According to Webster: en·vi·ron·ment, The complex social and cultural conditions affecting the nature of an individual or a community.

Question: Why is it more often than not, ..that it is intellectual young men, with a presumptive bright future that veer off the path?

 

Charles Joseph Whitman (June 24, 1941 – August 1, 1966) was a student at the University of Texas at Austin and a former Marine who killed 16 people and wounded 32 others (a total of 49 victims including himself) during a shooting rampage on and around the university’s campus on August 1, 1966. (Source Wikipedia).

James Oliver Huberty, (October 11, 1942.) Huberty used a 9 mm Uzi semi-automatic as the primary weapon fired in the massacre that he perpetrated at a McDonald’s restaurant in California along with, ..a Winchester pump-action 12-gauge shotgun, ..and a 9 mm Browning HP, ..killing 21 people and wounding 19 others. (Source Wikipedia).

Seung-Hui Cho, a student at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University shot and killed 32 people and wounded 17 others in two separate attacks, approximately two hours apart, before committing suicide on April 16, 2007.

The Virginia Tech massacre is recorded as the deadliest shooting incident by a single gunman in U.S. history. (Source Wikipedia)

Question: (To satisfy my personal curiosity). What is it about academia that inspires young man to go on killing sprees?

As a high school dropout and an individual who has worked my entire life to support myself and those I care about, ..I really want to know what makes the educated mind such a volatile habitat?

Within minutes of the shooting in Aurora, ..the Lions share of (pundits and talking heads) ..most all, ..(proud products of academia,) ..were once again haplessly railing against “our” second amendment.

What is it that academia injects into young people’s heads that makes them want to commit mass murder?

An unfair question you say; “then what question would be fair?

Is it fair for those (products of academia) to blame “guns” for taking a life?

Guns are not manufactured with a brain, ..guns don’t harbor hate or animosity, ..hate and animosity are manifestations of man.

So maybe one of these days, if our (products of academia) ever get their heads out of their armpits, ..maybe the public will be treated to a “talking head” that actually understands the difference between inert, ..and innate.

 (inert)

(innate)

Think about it, I’ll be back tomorrow

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

