What’s Important, ..and Why?

 Children are Important.

According to Webster: im·por·tant, Strongly affecting the course of events or the nature of things; significant.

According to Webster: why, For what purpose, reason, or cause; with what intention, justification, or motive.

Children are important because children are the future, not just the future of America, ..but the future of the world. Which of course is by no means new knowledge. The importance of the future is understood by “every living thing” on the planet.

Question: What do I mean by every living thing?

Although I believe that my question is self-explanatory, for those of you who are products of academia I will elaborate.

Although we, (Homo sapiens,) ..have an advantage over the (lesser endowed) “animal kingdom” with our large brain and our opposing thumb, ..it is my (unwavering) belief that every living thing has an understanding (at some level) of ..( it’s ) existence, ..and ( it’s ) ..place in nature.

 

We, Homo sapiens, (even with our large brains and our opposing thumbs) don’t fully understand the relationship between a Honeybee and a field of wildflowers. We, (with our large brain,) understand from observation that without bees, plant life on our planet would cease, ..and of course, we understand why.

But do we understand the conduit by which one generation of honeybees comes to understand, i.e., (learns) the nature of their purpose?

Honeybees don’t attend universities, nor do rabbits, squirrels or chipmunks, ..yet they are all governed by a social order.

Rabbits, ..squirrels, ..and chipmunks all reproduce, ..as do trees, ..bushes, ..and flowers.

Albeit, ..as I’m a “Homo sapien” blogging to “Homo sapiens,” I will endeavor to focus on the home team.

 

In the beginning… 

Homo sapiens are pretty much a blank piece of paper, “uncorrupted.” ..and/or, ..(pure).

According to Webster: pure, (in context) Containing nothing inappropriate or extraneous.

Until we, (Homo sapiens) are exposed to whatever venue or environment (chance) provides us with?

 

According to Webster: chance, (in context) The unknown and unpredictable element in happenings that seems to have no assignable cause.

My father for example; I suppose the simplest and most enlightening way to describe my father would be to say that he was a product of life. My father’s father was a Kansas farmer, albeit not in the sense that one thinks of a Kansas farmer today. My grandfather’s farm consisted of 16 acres, a house comparable to the vehicle that carried Dorothy to Oz and a barn of equal depreciation.

My father wasn’t selected by the local elders to receive a scholarship, i.e., (a free ride) into academe. My father was 14 years old on October 29, 1929 (Black Tuesday). When the elite, ..(money-changers) ..the selfish, “self aggrandized”  products of academia that (pushed the envelope) ..beyond its capacity.

My father, who was by no means at the top of his class in the traditional (Great Plains) one room schoolhouse that he attended until the (sky fell) on Black Tuesday, was, (as the sons and daughters) of most of the area’s residents, obliged to compete for what little work was available to help his family survive.

Hard times…

The Great Depression was a severe worldwide economic depression in the decade preceding World War II. The timing of the Great Depression varied across nations, but in most countries it started in 1930 after the passage of the United States’ Smoot-Hawley Tariff bill (June 17), and lasted until the late 1930s or middle 1940s. It was the longest, most widespread, and deepest depression of the 20th century. (Source, Wikipedia)

After Japan attacked Pearl Harbor, (nine days before I was born). At twenty-six, (with two children, and yours truly due momentarily, ..my father, “like most young men at the time,” stepped up and joined the Army to defend America, ..and served for the duration.

After the war, in 1945 and ‘46, my father like his counterparts (freshly mustered out of the Army,) ..did what he knew how to do best. He got up every morning, ..put his pants on ..(one leg at a time) like everyone else, ..tied his shoes and went to work, ..and when the paycheck from one job wasn’t enough to provide for his family, ..my father took on a second job.

We didn’t have a lot when I was a kid, but my dad always made sure that there was food on our table, and that “we” (his kids) ..always had shoes on our feet.

My father was a good man and a good provider, with his greatest gift to me, (at least in my opinion) my father taught me to work, to be responsible and self-reliant. Consequently, I wouldn’t know what a (food stamp) looks like if (one) walked up and bit me on the behind and I’m extremely proud that.

Although I can’t say that I (personally) understand how an able-bodied person can stand on a street corner with a tin cup. I understand that there are able-bodied people standing on street corners with tin cups. Which of course in my view and in my opinion is an extremely sad commentary on the United States of America.

Another extremely sad commentary on America (currently) is the fact that well-educated, mentally adjusted, (hopefully) ? Men and women, (adult) ..taxpaying citizens of this “Great Nation” voted in 2008 to elect a man that history will define as the biggest boo-boo since George Armstrong Custer said;

 

“We’ll surprise ‘em at the Little Big Horn.” 

After 3 1/2 years of chipping away at America’s foundation (our Constitution) ..(our inalienable rights,) ..and (our system of free enterprise)…

In both my (humble) and my (considered) opinion, ..this man, “Barack Obama,” has (no place) in America.

Think about it, I’ll be back tomorrow

Crusader Rabbit…

Leave a Reply

